Patrick Henry Community College - Official Site

Print Friendly Email This

Alliance for Excellence Awards Achievements

The program, held Sunday, June 8 at Fayette Street Christian Church in Martinsville, awarded 12 individuals with memorial awards and 37 students with academic awards.

Alliance for Excellence

Memorial awards honor upstanding citizens who contribute greatly to their communities. Winners include:

  • Cleophus O’Neil – The Reverend Dr. Rudolph T. Anderson Humanitarian Award
  • Jonathan M. Hairston – The Dr. Dana O. Baldwin Award
  • Sherikita Long – The Emmadean Norris Commander Leadership Award
  • Tequetta Swiney – The Bishop Harry Clay Eggleston Award
  • Vitalia Holland – The Charles Reginald Vanderbilt Hairston Community Visionary Award
  • Luzmila Via – The John B. Harris Sr. Exceptional Dedication to Civic Responsibility Award
  • Rickey Cook – The Reverend Dr. Hezekiah Morris Award
  • Octavius Johnson – The Sammy Redd Award
  • Cynthia Hairston – The Samuel S. Trott Outstanding Service to Education Award
  • Sharmain Thornton – The Mother Rachel Waller Award
  • Jamie Lopez – The Dr. Harry P. Williams Award
  • Loretta Harris – The Bessie C. Woodward Award

Student awards honor area minority students with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students from PHCC include Tonya Craighead, Martinsville; Sha’Quala Davis, Norfolk; Latisha Dillard, Critz; Denise Hairston, Martinsville; Lakia Hunt, Martinsville; Naomi Ingram-Barbieri, Bassett; Melissa Kellam, Martinsville; Jamie Lopez, Bassett; Mei Purdy, Ridgeway; Marguerita Reynolds, Axton; Jeanine Schoolfield, Martinsville; Cratia Stockton, Martinsville; and Jamie Wells, Martinsville.  

Students from Bassett High School include Carla Lackey, Collinsville; Rohit Lalchandani, Collinsville; Archal Patel, Martinsville; Octavius Ross, Bassett; and Sierra Vernon, Martinsville. Magna Vista High School students include Malika Jones, Martinsville; Yaselly Sanchez, Spencer; and Trevor Smith, Axton.

Student winners from Martinsville High School are Wesley T. Allen, Tajuana Carter, Guadalupe Corona, Kiana Dillard, Luis Hernandez-Ewan, Helem Martin, Marnie Martin of Axton, Erika Millner, Javarron Stockton, Nyomi Tarpley and Dajah Williams. All students reside in Martinsville unless otherwise indicated.

Student winners from Patrick County High School are Keely Cullen, Critz; Briana Dodson, Martinsville; Alexander Gomez, Patrick Springs; Megan Greene, Spencer; and Cindy Thomas, Stuart.

Jean Wilson

Jean Wilson is coordinator for the PHCC Alliance for Excellence chapter. Members of the advisory committee include Carolyn Drew, Edith Massie, Barbara Ingram, Marguerite Wilson, Vaughnie Witcher and Jeff Porter as sponsor.   

The Alliance for Excellence aims to increase enrollment for minority students at area community colleges and increase retention, graduation and transfer rates throughout the minority population. The alliance is jointly sponsored by the Community College Ministries and four area colleges: Danville Community College, Central Virginia Community College, Patrick Henry Community College, and Virginia Western Community College.